MLB en TV y streaming hoy - Horas de inicio y canales |
Your zip: Set new
Wrong ZIP
  • Eng - US
  • Eng - CA
  • Español
  • 23 Tue
  • 24 today
  • 25 Thu
  • 26 Fri
  • 27 Sat
  • 28 Sun
  • 29 Mon
  • 30 Tue
  • 31 Wed
  • 1 Thu
  • 2 Fri
  • 3 Sat
  • 4 Sun
  • 5 Mon

MLB on TV and Stream

What you need to know about Major League Baseball

Major League Baseball, or MLB as it's commonly referred to, is a professional major sports league in USA and Canada. The league consists of 30 teams and also includes the Minor League Baseball which comprises of 256 teams.

MLB: Major League Baseball

Major League Baseball, or MLB, has been the name of America's professional baseball league since 1903. That was when the two main baseball leagues of the time, which were known as the National League and the American League, started working together, and whilst those two leagues didn't really merge in the truest sense of the word from the outset, they did eventually do so in the year 2000.

How many teams in the MLB?

There are 30 teams in the MLB, and 29 of those are from the USA. The one that isn't is the Toronto Blue Jays, who are from Ontario in Canada. There are two leagues, and these are known as the American League and the National League, which is a continuation of how the MLB operated before the two leagues became one legal entity. Each league has three divisions of five teams.

When does MLB start?

Teams start warming up for the main MLB season in a two month period of spring training; that begins in February. The season itself begins at the beginning of April, and each team plays a total of 162 games in an effort to secure one of ten places in the playoffs - five for the American League and five for the National League. By the time the playoffs come to an end, just two teams remain - one from each league.

The MLB season reaches its most exciting point with the World Series. Here the two teams that survived the playoffs face each other in a series of games until one of them wins four games and, as a result, become the new World Series Champions. The New York Yankees are the stars of the World Series, having played in 40 and emerging as the victors no fewer than 27 times.

Famous MLB players

Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle and Babe Ruth are all famous players from the rich history of MLB, whilst Mookie Betts, Shane Bieber and Fernando Tatis Jr. are just three of the many star players of the current era.