NHL 2021 - Hockey is back
nhl (Photo by: Bruce Bennett/Getty Images/AFP)

NHL 2021 – Hockey is back

We’re kicking off the new year with the restart of the world’s best hockey. NHL starts on the 13th of January and there will be a slightly different look on the divisions. Read more about it below.

Find our Hockey tv-listings here

When will NHL start and finish?

The regular season will start on the 13th of January 2021 and will conclude on the 8th of May. Then the Stanley Cup playoffs will proceed and conclude sometime in mid-July.

The teams will play 56 regular-season games. But, this year they will have new divisions. NHL will be split up into 4 different divisions – North, West, Central, and East. See the full list below.

Additionally, they will only play against their division-rivals, to minimize traveling in these difficult times.
The playoffs will consist of 16 teams, and 4 teams from each division will battle it out with the first-placed team playing against the fourth-placed and the second vs the third team in their own division.

For Canadians, the North Division will return to some old-time hockey, when all of the 7 Canadian teams face off against each other in their Canadian-only Division with plenty of rivalry in many matchups.

Find our Hockey tv-listings here

The four NHL divisions 2021

North Division (Kanada)

  • Calgary
  • Edmonton
  • Montreal
  • Ottawa
  • Toronto
  • Vancouver
  • Winnipeg

West Division

  • Anaheim
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Los Angeles
  • Minnesota
  • San Jose
  • St Louis
  • Vegas

Central Division

  • Carolina
  • Chicago
  • Columbus
  • Dallas
  • Detroit
  • Florida
  • Nashville
  • Tampa Bay

East Division

  • Boston
  • Buffalo
  • New Jersey
  • NY Islanders
  • NY Rangers
  • Philadelphia
  • Pittsburgh
  • Washington

Find our Hockey tv-listings here

Free Transfers

We’ve also had some familiar faces switching teams in the Free Agent Frenzy.

  • Taylor Hall to Buffalo Sabres
  • Alex Pietrangelo to Vegas Golden Knights
  • Torey Krug to St Louis Blues
  • Tyler Toffoli to Montreal Canadiens
  • Zdeno Chara to Washington Capitals
  • Joe Thornton to Toronto Maple Leafs
  • Brayden Holtby to Vancouver Canucks
  • Jacob Markstrom to Calgary Flames
  • Henrik Lundqvist to Washington Capitals (LTIR)

Players who retired

  • Colin Wilson
  • Alexander Steen
  • Ryan Callahan
  • Chris Thorburn
  • Joel Ward
  • Dan Girardi
  • Niklas Kronwall
  • Matt Stajan
  • Lee Stempniak
  • Jim Slater
  • Cam Ward
  • Chris Kunitz
  • Matt Cullen
  • Roberto Luongo
  • Brooks Orpik

Find our Hockey tv-listings here